top of page

The aftermath

Hello everyone!

I woke up Saturday morning still feeling pretty off. I had a lot of visitors that day which was fine, I just didn't get too much sleep. My room mate was really nice though, we even shared popsicles:). My surgeon came to see me for a while, and told me about a pooh themed restaurant. If you know my family, you'll know that the pooh emoji pillow is a comfort thing when something may not be going right. So I thought that was pretty cool. haha.

This is my doctor and I with my pooh pillows. She loved them. You can obviously tell how amazing she is just by seeing this picture. How many doctors would hop next to you and give you a hug and take a picture? She is just such an amazing person and doctor.

I remember moments off and on from Saturday, I was on hydromorphone which made me feel pretty sick and very out of it. I hardly even remember who exactly came to see. I got no sleep at all until later in the day. Lori gave me foot massages all the time!!! she's the best!!! This is how I eventually fell asleep that day.

I kept having hot flashes from feeling nauseous and I was sick all night long. I knew it was coming and I was so dreading it. I was in so much pain from the incision and have a fear of throwing up to begin with. So throwing up while being in such pain, made it so much worse. I was crying and sick at the same time. It was really not pleasant, but my nurses gave me medication through my IV to help and it kicked in after a while but as soon as a couple hours past, the nausea came back. I don't think I slept until 6 am on Sunday. Also nurses come in every 2 hours to do vitals and do blood work often so not much sleep is had to begin with. When my doctor came to see me in the morning and heard that I was sick all night, she said well... you're definently not going home today and that she changed my medication which ended up working ok. I wasn't sick at all on Sunday! yay. My fever had also gone down but I was still having hot and cold flashes so I had a fan on me at all times. I still had the dang things on my legs to reduce the chance of blood clots, because I hadn't gotten up and walking yet. My nurse told me that once I get up walking, he would take the leg things off. So you bet I tried my best and got walking a bit! yay, got those things off later in the day! My surgeon told me that I could go home on Monday pending everything went well that night.

By the way.. I have to mention, the food in Kingston hospital was so much better than PRHC. They literally had a full menu, with breakfast, lunches, and dinners, deserts, snacks, drinks etc! they came around and asked you about an hour before each meal what you would like. SO AWESOME!

Monday morning came, and I was feeling okay, and really wanted to just got home, so I did.. but I probably should not have. Anyhow, I did get discharged from the hospital around noon on Monday. 2 hour drive home that I was not excited for, as it would probably be incredibly uncomfortable, especially not being able to move much on my own. We made a bed in the back of the truck but somewhere along the way home my nausea came back and I was feeling off. There was also a transport truck that had an accident on the highway on the way home so our 2 hour drive turned into an almost 4 hour drive. We made it home and I was really sore and tired, so I just chilled out that night. I was so excited to just be home and start recovering. I was sleeping in the recliner chair again because getting out of a bed was impossible, and I didn't want to be stuck if I need to go to the washroom! haha. I stayed with my grandparents so I could get any help that I needed as they're home all day. They gave me a bell to ring if I needed anything (in which they couldn't hear) hahaha. Off topic.. but funny story. I dropped a drink on the ground and it was spilling everywhere but I could bend down far enough to reach it so I was ringing the bell since I didn't want it to touch the electrical chords. They didn't hear the bell! So I called the house phone and I still bug them about that to this day. haha!

The next day (Tuesday) I was feeling really really unwell. Extreme hot and cold flashes and nausea and just not feeling myself. I wasn't sure if it was just my hormones from losing ovary or if it was the trauma from moving too much the prior day, so I put it in the back of my mind. I kept trying to tell myself that this feeling was nothing and that I would be fine.

Anyways, I'll leave the rest of my week to the next post! Cheers!

Nic xo :)

Message of the day: When you can't change the direction of the wind- adjust your sails.

bottom of page